Continuing Connections – #DBlogWeek Day 7

DOC (diabetes online community) is a fantastic way of making connections with others who are travelling the same route as you with diabetes, it is also a great place to ask questions and find out about different technologies, coping strategies and maintenance ideas.

DBlogWeek has been an incredible way of broadening my circle of known DBlogs, there are two ladies that I need to thank for introducing me to #DBlogWeek. First is a lady that I found on FaceBook Arlene who writes the wonderful blog Cut the B.S.!…I mean Blood Sugar! I highly recommend checking out her blog, it is easy to follow/read and I enjoy it 😉 The second is the fantastic Karen of Bitter~Sweet Diabetes who is the founder and host of DBlogWeek. Not only has she got a fantastic blog but she has a list of all the people who have taken part in this years DBlogWeek here so that if you want to find some new DBlogs or just see what else is going on out there you can have a wee browse. I think there are around 200 so plenty to choose from and you are sure to find something that you like among it all 😉

I will, over the course of the next year, work my way through these blogs to find new reading material but this week three blogs in particular stood out to me. First up is The Grumpy Pumper, I feel dreadful admitting this but I have been following the Grumpy Pumper on Twitter for months but have nit gotten around to checking out his blog and the answer is yes, his blog is as good as his tweets! He has a humor about him that I could not possibly recreate and I enjoy immensely, it may not be your cup of tea so go in with an open mind but I do smile when reading it.

Second is The Trials of Type 2 Diabetes. As someone with T1D I have gotten constantly frustrated with people making comments about me or my illness that, I feel, only apply to people with T2D. But as I have ‘grown up’ I have started to research ‘what is T2D,’ what is the disease process, who can get it, why do people get it, what are the influencing factors etc etc. The more I have researched the more I have understood about the disease process, risk factors etc etc but I have never actually been able to talk to someone with T2D to get an idea of a comparison between T1D and T2D. Far as I found (so far) this blog was one of the only ones for T2D taking part in #DBlogWeek (I could be totally wrong about that!)

Third and final was the blog Defining Diabetes and Mental Health. This blog seeks to bridge the gap between diabetes and mental health and get talking about how really they go hand in hand. As an occupational therapy student I have learnt a lot about mental health and it’s impacts/correlation with those suffering from physical ailments but it has only been in the past maybe 5years that I have realized the impact that diabetes has on my mental health and I have never found anything talking about it openly. Until now. I have not read all of the blog posts available on this site but from what I have seen and the description they offer I think it looks great and would really recommend it to all PWD because it is an area of life that all too often goes under the radar or people dont want to talk about.

Those are my new picks from #DBlogWeek I hope you enjoy having a read through them as much as I have. A huge thank you again to Karen for arranging #DBlogWeek and to all those who have participated, it has been a fantastic week 😀

Hope

Leave a Reply

