Foods On Friday – #DBlogWeek Day 5

Today is all about food…this is a bit of an iffy subject for me, in my world food is for fuel, I often don’t enjoy what I am eating and only eat it to regulate my BS (blood sugar). In saying that there are a few foods that I really do enjoy when given the chance and good BS πŸ˜‰ so we will see how this goes, I will try and explain why I have chosen what I have to eat throughout the day and I’ll tell you what I have to do in order to be able to eat it and have a reasonable BS afterward.

I thought a good way of connecting my diabetes into this post would be to show you a standard day for me on Diasend, so I have screenshoted Saturdays record and I will walk you through it all πŸ™‚ I wont explain all the information on the graphs etc because I feel it is pretty self explanatory but if you do have any questions please feel free to ask them (I do understand that looking at this from a non T1D point of view it may seem rather confusing).

Oh and I have used Saturdays information instead of Fridays as Friday got away on me and I attended a friends garden party in the evening which is not my norm and which also entailed a beautiful potluck and alcohol (neither of which is great for a PWD trying to carb count hehe but it tasted so good!) so I figured that giving you a standard day would possibly be of more use πŸ˜‰

Lets get into it then πŸ™‚ carbs that I consumed are in the lower table just above but I will tease them out and give explanations of what I ate and why etc etc.

08:46 – Breakfast – 24g = porridge. I try to always have porridge for breakfast, I find it is a good slow release and doesn’t contain any added sugars or sweeteners. I also have the problem of feeling sick in the mornings and not wanting to eat anything at all but having diabetes doesn’t let me act on that feeling, when I do have breakfast I often have very distorted taste and I figure porridge is bland so it’s not as upsetting to my taste buds hehe. This feeling is always exasperated when I wake up with a high BS (I don’t know if any other PWD have this or if it is just one of my irritating qwirks?)

12:53 – Lunch – 30g = cheese toastie. Now I realize that not everyone reading this will be from New Zealand and we have very different terminology from the USA so I shall expand on what a cheese toastie is. You take two pieces of bread and butter them on both sides (this will make sense in a sec), next you place cheese and pineapple inside like a sandwich. Finally you place all of this in a toastie maker (I think this is also called a sandwich press?) What you end up with is toasted bread with melted cheese in the middle that is about 90 Degrees Celsius and burns you as you bite into but you are caught in a trap because as you pull away you realize the cheese has stuck to your mouth and is now stringy and looping everywhere. It is hilarious to watch people eat and tastes really good!

16:40 – Afternoon Tea – 21g = Cheese roll. Another New Zealand phenomenon hehe, this time you do the same thing but instead of pineapple you put chives and spring onion and you roll the bread into a roll before toasting (so good!)

17:36 – I was hungry – 27g = lammington (sponge with icing and coconut). Basically I hid two of these in my room so my younger brother wouldn’t eat the whole packet and I would actually get one, anyway, it was staring at me and I was hungry so it made sense.

18:09 – Curiosity – 16g = sour jelly beans. I found these fancy jelly beans I was given for Christmas and felt the need to try them then and there without having to wait for a hypo πŸ˜›

19:46 – Dinner – 30g = grilled chicken and steamed veges. It’s fair to say I was not overly hungry at this point but needs must πŸ˜›

20:03 – Lack of Self Control – the jelly beans were calling…

22:19 – Too Much IOB (insulin on board) – 10g = jelly beans. I tested and was perfect but I had over 1unit on board which was enough to send me into a hypo, it was logical to eat enough to cancel that out.

22:28 – Where is my brain?! – 21g = another lammington! At this point I must confess something, I was skyping my boyfriend and so was completely preoccupied when I was eating the jelly beans 10mins ago, I bolused for them, when the entire point of eating them was to cancel out my IOB! (Men! They just mess with your sugars!) So as a second cancellation of IOB I had my last lammington.

Whenever I had any of these things too eat I have to calculate the carbs that I am consuming I do this one of three ways: I weigh my food and enter it into Calorie King, here is the link if you want to have a look (I think it’s fantastic); or if it is something I eat regularly such as an apple I know the carbs and can just enter them from memory; or for things that come in servings I will weigh out a serving portion and use the information provided on the packet πŸ™‚ after I find out the carbs I enter the total into my pump and a calculation is run based on my I:C ratio (insulin carb ratio, how many units of insulin I need per gram of carb) and that insulin is given to me.

When I am at college I will make myself a packed lunch and when I was learning to carb count (and if I have anything new in my lunch box) I will write the carb total onto the gladwrap of the food item. It looks a bit daft but I find it very helpful when I am on the go or trying to concentrate on other things and busy.


The main thing i would like you to take away from this post is that PWD can eat anything that they want, we aren’t allergic to sugar and we wont die if we eat it as long as we have the appropriate insulin to cover it. I don’t normally eat so many sweets but every now and again it doesn’t hurt πŸ˜› Β Some people do this via carb counting others have other methods. For me I HAVE to have three main meals a day and if I do not have a small snack mid morning and afternoon I will go low (as I did at lunch today because I didn’t have morning tea). Everyone has certain things that they have to do every day to keep themselves healthy, mentally and physically, everyone’s list is different and mine includes having to eat at certain times and calculate what I have eaten. It feels really overwhelming at first but as you do it, it becomes second nature and a lot easier.

If you have any questions about carb counting or how I do things or need clarification on anything please feel free to ask. I’m not a Dr so cannot give you any advice or direction that regard but I have learnt some tips along the way that make things easier πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Foods On Friday – #DBlogWeek Day 5

Leave a Reply

