Favourites and Motivations – #DBlogWeek Day 6

Finally! I’m only one post behind now, the catch up is working 😛

Today is about my favourite bloggers in the DOC (diabetes online community) and/or what motivated me to start blogging.

I have only been involved in the DOC for the past kinda 6months (I’m a late bloomer when it comes to technology hehe). The person I have to thank for this is the incredible Ally a.k.a. VeryLightNoSugar click that link and check her out! I first discovered Ally on Twitter (she’s under VeryLightNoSugar again on there) where I clicked on a couple of her blog links. This girl is phenomenal! She tells it like it is, which I appreciate more than I am able to express right now. So many people sugar coat diabetes and down play the tough stuff, while Ally doesn’t make a huge drama of it she does explain it as it is. The reason I love this so much is because I always felt guilty for finding certain aspects of diabetes difficult or struggling to get my head around something, it was like ‘suit up and get on with it’ and when I wasn’t able to do that with the ease I felt I should it was devastating. Knowing that for someone else diabetes makes x, y and z a little tougher was fantastic! Seeing new ways of approaching these different aspects was fantastic too, suddenly I didn’t feel alone and I was normal. These are the reasons I am recommending Ally, this and she is a brilliant writer. So you really should check her out, you will enjoy it, I promise 🙂

What motivated me to get blogging, especially when there are so many fantastic DBloggers out there already. Pretty simple really, my journey with diabetes is all subjective (from my stand point), no one could turn around to me and tell me I was wrong because it was my feelings and thoughts and attitudes toward something that I was going through. For me this was comforting because I am not one for confrontation or debating who is right or wrong, it intrigues me greatly to see and understand why people experience things differently and I was keen to see if anyone else was similar to me and if so how did they approach things. The main reason I started blogging through, was that I couldn’t find anyone in their 20’s in New Zealand who was doing it. Healthcare is very different here from in the states and while I love hearing how things work overseas, sometimes you just need to know whats going on in your own backyard. I grew up feeling very along in the diabetes world, I had no one my own age, or older to look up to or talk things through with. I feel that had I had this I would’ve grown up with a very different attitude toward my diabetes. Because of this I wanted to try and be this person for younger girls in my neck of the woods (or anywhere for that matter). I attended a diabetes youth camp for younger children at the beginning of the year and this is where I really found my want to help out younger kids with T1D. I was asked a whole heap of questions by the young girls (that I am sure they wouldn’t be as keen to ask a non-T1D) and when they found out I had diabetes it there was a lot of screaming. I want to show people that they can grow up to be whatever and whoever they want dispite having diabetes, that it is a big factor of their lives but it does not have to control them, and that they can grow up healthy and their diabetes not effect them any more than it has to.

It all sounds terribly mushy doesn’t it? But there is the truth of all of it. I do hope that I am making some kind of impact on those that read my blog (a good one preferably!) Even if I never get to see it, knowing that it could possibly be the case is more than enough 😉

2 thoughts on “Favourites and Motivations – #DBlogWeek Day 6

  1. Hope, Thank you for making my day!

    I think most of us start blogging with the intention of connecting to others through our stories. It warms my heart to know that I have become friends with an outstanding young woman all the way across the globe in New Zealand and that our mutual stories click in such a way.

    You have inspired me with your wonderful attitude, your willingness to fight hard for your insulin pump and your health, and your positive example for the younger diabetic community in NZ. I know without a doubt that those kids are all the better for having met you and learned from your example.

    Thanks again, Hope! And keep up all of your good work! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

