Changes – #DBlogWeek Day 4

Changes that I would like to see in the world of diabetes. Well if I could change anything about diabetes and an illness I would make it non-existent,  so I guess there is not much to talk about in that area hehe. Instead lets talk about the equipment and technology available for PWD (people with diabetes) and my (very limited) thoughts on those 😉

Lets start off with the technologies that I use on a daily basis:

Glucose Meter

Insulin Pump

Diasend (an internet platform for uploading and looking at the information/history of my pump)

Calorie King (for counting carbs)

I am extremely thankful that I have these technologies available to me instead of having to pee in a cup and and taste it or use a horse needle to to inject an un-calculated amount of insulin in the hope that you get it all more right than wrong.

I’ll start with the glucose meter (excuse me I am about to get very very excited here!) Have you seen the new Abbott Freestyle Libre?!! Oh my goodness if you haven’t click the link and have a wee look before you finish reading this http://www.freestylelibre.co.uk/ basically it is a glucose monitoring system that has two components: a receiver and a reader. The reader is a small disc that is inserted into the upper arm (it lasts approximately 14days) you can then scan this disc with the receiver (this part can be done through clothing and takes 1second) to receive a glucose reading. No pricking, no waiting for the monitor to count down, no only having a certain amount of strips available every day or trying to coordinate yourself when your low or on the go. Anytime you want a reading, just scan yourself! This is beyond brilliant! I cannot talk this system or idea up enough! (can you tell I’m excited about this?) The only downside is that I am in New Zealand, which is pretty much the last inhabitable place on the bottom of the globe, so the rest of the world (it feels) has access to this technology and there is absolutely no release date set or even planned for New Zealand. It is beyond frustrating but something I am holding out for so desperately! And if anyone who is reading this has any experience of this tech please, I would love to know what it is like and whether you like it or not 🙂

Insulin Pump, I have the Animas Vibe Insulin Pump. To be honest there is not a great deal I would change about my pump. I would love if it was slimmer as I find there are some styles of clothes that I have stopped wearing because they look quite silly with my pump, so I feel it does effect how I look in more ways than just having a box attached. My boyfriend thinks there should be a form of pump that is a set and forget, so that you don’t have to carb count and input info etc etc. Now this would be absolutely fantastic but there is a small part of me that has come to rely on the control I have over being able to choose the amount of insulin I have etc. The Dexcom, now that can link in with my pump and send it a glucose reading every 5minutes but, it is up to me to keep an eye on this info and choose what to do with it. I would love if my pump would register the readings and give me corrections based on the readings, taking into account IOB (insulin on board) etc, this, I feel would make my control super 😉

Diasend, this platform takes all the information my pump has collected and does some mathematical magic to come up with pie graphs, charts and stats all about my carb intake, insulin taken and BS (blood sugar). It’s fantastic, I can email it through to my endo or DN (diabetes nurse) and they can sit wherever they are and give me advice on what I need to change. It’s brilliant. the only thing I would love to see with it is some sort of introductory video that explains what you can do and how to do it, it’s a bit of a have a play and see what happens kinda set up.It would also be quite handy to have it as an app for the HCP (health care professionals) as they could look at it easily on the go.

Last but not least is the app/website that I use to calculate my carbs so I can have the appropriate insulin. Call me too controlling if you like but I weigh everything I eat, unless it comes in single servings and the packet lists how many carbs is in that single serve. I find that with a pump it pays to be exact and the only way i can do this effectively is through weighing. Calorie King allows me to search a particular food or ingredient. There are some staples like wholewheat or brown flour that for some reason are not in Calorie Kings data base, which is slightly frustrating. On the whole I find the website a great deal easier to use than the app but if I have my way with carb counting I would have a tiny device that I could scan my food with and it would send the carb content directly through to my pump and my pump would give me the required insulin 😛

I know, I know a lot of what I have said is rather futuristic and largely unobtainable (especially the later) but I do think that there are many elements we could add to today’s technology that wouldn’t necessarily take a heap of brains to do (well more brain than I have but I’m positive you can find that out there) and those changes can and will make a huge difference to how diabetes in managed and (I think) change the lives of PWD for the better 🙂

Leave a Reply

