An Article in the Local Paper

During November (Diabetes awareness month) I was interviewed by a lovely journalist from the Otago Daily Times (ODT) our local news paper here. I was interviewed all about my type 1 diabetes (T1D).

I was so nervous! I wasn’t sure what she was going to ask and then there was the uncertainty of what she would actually write and how she would portray me…and others with T1D. I felt like I was being placed with such responsibility to make sure that the correct things were being heard and understood about T1D but at the same time I felt I had no control over any of it!

The journalist and I spoke for about an hour, about everything! From hospital appointments to how T1D affects friendships.

This is the article that was published as a result.

http://www.odt.co.nz/lifestyle/magazine/328536/fear-blindness-wake-call-diabetic

Hopefully if I have done this correctly you can just click the link above  and it will open in a new tab!

I thought I would put it up here to give you all: a) a chance to read it and b) a place to ask me further questions should you have any. I really hope that you enjoy reading this and please feel free to ask any questions about anything, if I can help in anyway I’m more than happy to 🙂

Leave a Reply

